Peter Fox- Haus am See for the Anglophones

For those like me, that can buy his cd but can’t download it (lol, really). If you want to post my bad translations somewhere, please refer to the source. Thanks.


Haus am See doesn’t rock as much as Alles neu. But I like the violin. Okay I could be biased here. ;)
He is dreaming here about what will be when he is old. Or better about how he would like to live when he is old. The official homepage of Peter Fox is http://peterfox.de/.

German lyrics (from www.songtexte.bz, all rights reserved by the artist)
Haus am SeeHier bin ich geboren, laufe durch die Strassen
kenn die gesichter, jedes haus und jeden laden
ich muss mal weg, kenn jede taube hier beim namen
daumen raus, ich warte auf ne schicke frau mit schnellen wagen

die sonne blendet, alles fliegt vorbei
und die welt hinter mir wird langsam klein
doch die welt vor mir ist für mich gemacht
ich weiss sie wartet und ich hol sie ab

ich hab den tag auf meiner seite, ich hab rückenwind
ein frauenchor am straßenrand, der für mich singt
ich lehne mich zurück und guck ins tiefe blau
schließ die augen und lauf einfach geradeaus

chorus:
und am ende der straße steht ein haus am see
orangenbaumblätter liegen auf dem weg
ich hab 20 kinder, meine frau ist schön
alle kommen vorbei, ich brauch nie raus zu gehen
im traum gesehen, das haus am see

ich suche neues land, mit unbekannten straßen
fremde gesichter und keiner kennt meinen namen
allesgewinn beim spiel mit gezinkten karten
alles verliern, gott hat einen harten linken haken

ich grabe schätze aus in schnee und sand
und frauen rauben mir jeden verstand
doch irgendwann werd ich vom glück verfolgt
und komm zurück mit beiden taschen voll gold

ich lad die alten vögel und verwandten ein
und alle fangen vor freude an zu weinen
wir grillen, die mamas kochen und wir saufen schnaps
und feiern eine woche jede nacht

chorus:
und der mond scheint hell auf mein haus am see
orangenbaumblätter liegen auf dem weg
ich hab 20 kinder, meine frau ist schön
alle kommen vorbei, ich brauch nie raus zu gehen
im traum gesehen, das haus am see

und am ende der straße steht ein haus am see
orangenbaumblätter liegen auf dem weg
ich hab 20 kinder, meine frau ist schön
alle kommen vorbei, ich brauch nie raus zu gehen

yeah yeah yeah yeah

hier bin ich geboren, hier werd ich begraben
hab taube ohren, nen weißen bart und sitz im garten
meine 100 enkel spielen cricket aufm rasen
wenn ich so daran denke, kann ichs eigentlich kaum erwarten

Bad english translation by me:
house at the lake

I was born here, walking the streets
know the faces, every house and every shop
I got to get out, I know every pigeon by name
thumb out, I wait for a nifty woman with a fast car

the sun glares, all flies past
and the world behind me shrinks slowly
but the world in front of me was made for me
I know she’s waiting and I come for her

the day is on my side, the winds at my back
a female choir at the side of the road, that sings for me
I lean back and look in the deep blue
close my eyes and walk straight ahead

chorus:
and at the end of the road stands a house at the lake
leaves of an orange tree lie on the path
I have 20 children, my wife looks good
all come to visit me, I don’t have to go out
seen in a dream, the house at the lake

I seek a new territory, with unknown streets
faces of strangers and no one knows my name
winning all in a game with marked cards
losing all, god has a tough left sidewinder

I dig for treasures in snow and sand
and women steal all of my brains
but one day I’ll have luck
and return with both bags full of gold

I’ll invite all old friends and relatives
and all start to cry tears of joy
we have a barbecue, the mothers cook and we drink booze
and we have a party for a week every night

Chorus:
and the moon shines bright at my house at the lake
leaves of an orange tree lie on the path
I have 20 children, my wife looks good
all come to visit me, I don’t have to go out
seen in a dream, the house at the lake

and at the end of the road stands a house at the lake
leaves of an orange tree lie on the path
I have 20 children, my wife looks good
all come to visit me, I don’t have to go out

yea yea yea yea

I was born here, I’ll get buried here
am deaf in my ears, have a white beard and sit in the garden
my 100 grandchildren play cricket on the lawn
when I think about it, I can hardly wait.

See also: Alles neu for the Anglophones.

I won’t post any of my translations anymore, because it can become expensive. In Germany it is illegal to post lyrics on the net without a licence to do so. I wrote an email to Peter Fox asking for a licence and got no answer. That means I have no licence to post the original lyrics nor the translation and Peter Fox could sue me.
That’s the internet, it looks as if all was free and such, the opposite is the case.

22 thoughts on “Peter Fox- Haus am See for the Anglophones

  1. Geniales Stück, das ganze Album is der Hammer

  2. Ja denk ich auch ich hatte schon in ein paar Stücke reingehört, hatte es ja auch schon erworben auf Nowdio, konnte es dort aber wegen der franz. IP nicht runterladen.

    Yea I like the whole album too. And I have good news, my bf is in Germany and he was able to download the album which I bought on nowdio. So finally after some weeks, I’ll have my BOUGHT “Stadtaffe”. I am a very oldfashioned person (maybe because I am old). And still think musicians need some money to buy food too.

  3. Hey !! I’m sorry I don’t speak German, such a bad thing as I like the sound of that language… Well Anyway, just wanna thank the one who translated Peter Fox’s Songs, am really fond of him, so : DANKE Shön !!!

    Bitteschön! ;)

  4. His music is a lighthouse in a sea of spam x

  5. Yay! Translations!

    I didn’t know that about lyrics… I guess that explains why I’ve had a little bit of trouble with finding translations? Although I can understand some of the German… I only had a semester of it, though X)

    I love Peter Fox’s stuff… I’m a violist, so I guess that’s one of the reasons. I’ve gotten some fellow music school students into him as well :-) Thanks for your efforts!

  6. I bet most artists don’t even think about the licence problems, while the labels decide not to post any lyrics or translations, thus criminalizing the fans.

  7. Nice song.Now from Eng i can translate it to my frend here in Russia.He love this song,and now i love it too )).
    Thank you for transaltion.

  8. it’s with this song that I discovered the beauty of german language – so thank you very much for your translation!

  9. And thank YOU for your kind comment. :)

  10. I’ve lived in Germany for several years and recently heard this song. Took me a little bit to find it, but your translation helped understand a little more than my ears could hear.

    Thank you for the work…

  11. I am happy if my translation helped a bit. :D

  12. […] the day is on my side, the winds at my back a female choir at the side of the road, that sings for me I lean back and look in the deep blue close my eyes and walk straight ahead” (full English translation here) […]

  13. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Sarah

  14. Thanks for the transaltion. I don’t speak german, but peter fox is quite good. I discovered it while looking on MTV Germany in my trips to Sofia, and I’ve bought the album. Great songs, great lyrics, and great blog you have here.

  15. Oranje Boven

    Thanks for the translation. Even though it might not be perfect, it’s what there is. I heard this song on 3FM..a radio station in Holland. I like the music, but what I like most is the language and the way he sings it. I know dutch, so german isn’t too hard to understand (in reading it). I want to learn it, cause I think it’s a cool language.

    Danke

  16. […] Fox. Titel: Haus am See.  Mooi filmpje ook. Orginele tekst en vertaling naar het Engels vond ik hier, niet zo veel gebruik gemaakt van de Engelse […]

  17. gott hat einen harten linken haken

    I would translate that differently:
    God has a tough left hook

    Assuming there is reference to a fist fight here.

    Thanks for the post, it helped me find your blog. I love it

    Anne

  18. Hi,

    Thanks for the translation. I really like this song.
    I’m not German, nor English, so correct me if i’m wrong.
    But I’d translate “alles fliegt vorbei” to : “time flies by”

    I still don’t understand the “schicke” in “ich warte auf ne schicke frau mit schnellen wagen”

    is it from the word “sending” I wait for a sending wife with a fast car?

  19. No, I don’t think he talks only about time , if you go by car or by bus everything flies by your window and things you drove away from shrink behind you while you move. And things you once thought are the most important in your life shrink somehow, they aren’t so important anymore while experiences and impressions fly by, because you move on. And anyways, a translation is also an interpretation and I sure can be wrong, maybe I think he is more of a poet than he is. :P

    schicken= to send isn’t the same word like schick. Schick is the German word for chic. Napoleon (1769- 1821) brought the word chic to Germany from France and in those times the Germans tended to write a word like they pronounce it. French influence brought a lot of French words in the German language. http://wortschatz.uni-leipzig.de/cgi-bin/wort_www.exe?site=1&Wort=schick
    I like the word “schick” a lot and use it quite often as a word of approval.

  20. Hi,Stanzebla,
    Thank you so much for the translation!!!
    I have a question about this sentence:
    ”alles verliern, gott hat einen harten linken haken”.

    What does this sentence actually mean? Is there any meaning behind these words?
    ”losing all, god has a tough left sidewinder”

    Is it related to the Peter Pan story? (Because there is Captain Hook?? Left hand? Left hook?)

    Sorry for asking you this …but some of my friends have been arguing this sentence over days…(for translation).
    One argued that it means a left sidewinder for boxing???
    The other one argued that it’s related to the Captain Hook???

    None of us is German and knows Peter Fox… :-)
    Hence, it seems quite difficult for us to find a good answer…explanation.
    You are absolutely right with the statement:”a translation is also an interpretation”! I agree you on it!
    Thank you very much!

  21. No, those are boxing expressions. Has nothing to do with Peter Pan at all. “Haken” is a special punch that was translated by http://www.dict.cc/?s=haken with “sidewinder” (ae). It’s not a direct punch. I wanted to make sure nobody mixes it up with the device hook. “Einen harten Haken haben” means to have a strong punch, that might knock someone out. So God can knock you out if he wants to and you better not mess with him.

  22. Send the lyrics to a Canadian friend…it is not illegal to post lyrics here in Canada. What a silly law!! :)

Leave a Reply

