Peter Fox- Lok auf 2 Beinen for the Anglophones

I am not sure yet which of the songs on “Stadtaffe” I like the best. “Lok auf 2 Beinen” is definitely a candidate. It’s short and to the point, I like the sounds and the squawking chorus.

German lyrics

from http://www.magistrix.de/:
Peter Fox – Lok auf 2 Beinen
Ich renn bergauf, rolle bergab, durch die Pampa, durch die Stadt,
gradeaus, zerkratz mein Lack, zack mit dem Kopf durch die Wand bis es knackt,
Bleib wo du bist, ich hol dich ab ich mach nicht schlapp auch wenn ich Gicht hab.
Bin am hotten bis ich blutende Hacken hab, kauf wie ne Frau neue Botten im Minutentakt
Die Pumpe pumpt, ich hab wunde Lungen.
Wie n junger Hund – werd nie satt.
Zweifel gibts nicht, ich lauf drumrum
Ich jag n Phantom bis ichs hab, im Zickzack ihm nach, ich schlaf kaum, fress Dreck
seh es an der Ecke, bin ich da isses wieder weg.
Die fette Henne vor der Nase bin angezeckt, will sie haben und wedel mit dem ganzen HeckIrgendwas hält mich auf Trab und manchmal hab ich es satt,
es tritt mich Tag und Nacht der Teufel der nach mir schnappt
Die Welt muss sich drehen, nichts kann so bleiben
ich renn durch mein Leben, wie ne Lok auf zwei Beinen
Ein Hund kann nicht krähen, ein Fisch kann nicht schreien,
und ich kann nicht stehen bleiben, ich bin n rollender Stein.Higtechboots von der Nasa, auf meinen Waden riesige Adern,
auf der Brille Fliegenkadaver als ich zu Fuß aus Paris nach Dakar kam
Bin dreckig, latsch durch nen See
Ich hab Hunger und esse im Gehen
Trink aus der Pulle, Isogetränke
Strulle in die Ente, ganz souverän
Bin auf der Flucht bin auf der Jagd, wie n gehetzter Fuchs ständig auf Draht,
es ist wie ne Sucht ich brauchs jeden Tag
WHOOP – bin ein Bus meine Bremse versagt
Latsch durch Mauern, nix darf dauern, kau an den Nägeln hab Hummeln im Arsch
Muss wieder weg, will nicht versauern, Frauen trauern, tragen Fummel in schwarzIrgendwas hält mich auf Trab und manchmal hab ich es satt,
es tritt mich Tag und Nacht der Teufel der nach mir schnappt
Die Welt muss sich drehen, nichts kann so bleiben
ich renn durch mein Leben, wie ne Lok auf zwei Beinen
Ein Hund kann nicht krähen, ein Fisch kann nicht schreien,
und ich kann nicht stehen bleiben, ich bin n rollender Stein.

Die Mucke pumpt laut, ich riechs von weitem: Rum, Rauch, Frauen und Seife
Drei Türchecker fliegen zur Seite; weil ich in den Schuppen wie auf Schienen einreite
Ich renne zehn Runden durch den Club, ich dance, der Dancefloor geht kaputt,
Bräute in schicken Pumps stehen im Schutt, ich trag sie zur Bar und wir nehm nen Schluck
Ich hab sie im Huckepack tanz auf dem Tisch, verschütte alle Drinks bin nass wie n Fisch,
ich renn hinten raus einmal rund ums Haus und vorne wieder rein; bin fast wieder frisch

Das Rad muss sich drehen also dreh ich am Rad, ich muss gehen, alle gehn ab

Bad english translation by me:

engine on 2 legs

I run uphill, coast downhill, in the middle of nowhere, in the city
straightforward, scratch my paint. wham! with the head against the wall till it cracks
stay where you are, I pick you up, I won’t wear out, even if I have gout
I dance till my heels bleed, buy new shoes every minute
the ticker ticks, my lungs are sore
like a puppy- I never get enough.
There are no doubts, I dodge them
I chase phantoms till I catch them, zigzag after them, I barely sleep, devour dirt
I get a glimpse of it at the corner, when I am there it is gone
a juicy vixen right under my nose, am aroused, I want her and waggle my rear.

Something keeps me on the go, sometimes I’m tired of it,
it kicks me day and night, the devil snaps at me,
the world keeps tunring, nothing can remain,
I hurry through my life like an engine on 2 legs.
A dog can’t crow, a fish can’t shout
and I can’t stop, am a rolling stone.

Nasa’s high tech boots, on my arms monstrous veins,
on my glasses fly cadavers when I walked from Paris to Dakar
am dirty, walk through a lake
am hungry, eat while walking
drink out of a bottle, isotonic beverage,
pee in the bottle, entirely competent,
am on the run, am on the hunt, like a hounded fox always on the ball,
it’s like an addiction I need it every day.
Whoop- am a bus, my brakes malfunction,
walk through walls, nothing may last, chew fingernails, have ants in my pants
have to go, don’t want to go stale, women mourn, wear black rags.

Something keeps me on the go, sometimes I’m tired of it,
it kicks me day and night, the devil snaps at me,
the world keeps tunring, nothing can remain,
I hurry through my life like an engine on 2 legs.
A dog can’t crow, a fish can’t shout
and I can’t stop, am a rolling stone.

The music pumps loud, I smell it afar: rum, smoke, women and soap.
Three doormen fall aside because I ride in the boîte like on rails.
I run 10 rounds around the club, I dance, the dancefloor breaks down.
Chicks in fancy pumps stand in the debris, I carry them to the bar and we take a gulp.
I carry them piggyback, dance on the table, spill all the drinks, am wet like a fish.
I head out the backdoor, run around the house and enter at the front; am nearly refreshed.

The wheel has to turn so I am out of it, I have to go, everybody rocks. (1)

(1) The puns in that line aren’t translatable. “ich dreh am Rad”, “I turn the wheel” is an expression for being very nervous, excited and confused. “Out of it” doesn’t match it completely but is the best expression I could find. “Alle gehen ab” has 2 meanings in german, first “everybody rocks” and also “everybody makes his exit”.

Check here for all of my bad Peter Fox lyrics translations.

I won’t post any of my translations anymore, because it can become expensive. In Germany it is illegal to post lyrics on the net without a licence to do so. I wrote an email to Peter Fox asking for a licence and got no answer. That means I have no licence to post the original lyrics nor the translation and Peter Fox could sue me.
That’s the internet, it looks as if all was free and such, the opposite is the case.

3 thoughts on “Peter Fox- Lok auf 2 Beinen for the Anglophones

  1. My Favorites: Das zweite Gesicht & Stadtaffe! Gruß Spank

    Oh man du kommentierst schneller als ich den Artikel zu Ende editiere xD.
    Ich denke ich nehm mir “das zweite Gesicht” als nächstes vor, hat auch sehr hübsche Streicher. stanze

  2. Thanks so much for these Peter Fox translations! I am able to enjoy the music so much more now that I have an idea what he’s saying.

  3. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

