Alles neu for the Anglophones

Here we are again in stanze’s “torture the english language” club. This time I try a translation of the song “Alles neu” by Peter Fox. Fasten the dictionary belts and stop smoking anyways.
This lyrics have a lot of rhymes and I can’t reproduce most of them (and am way too lazy).

All is new
I burn down my studio, sniff the ashes like coke.
I slay my goldfish, bury him in the yard.
I blast my hangout, I let everything go. (uh…)
My old life tastes like limp biscuit.
Fry me a splendid steak, Peter cooks finest meat now.
I’m the update, Peter Fox 1.1.
I want to shake myself, party, but my pool is too small.
I grow a second set of choppers like the great white shark. (hoo…)
Waxed, doped, polished, brandnew teeth.
I became euphoriant and have expensive plans.
I buy me construction machines, dredgers, rollers and cranes.
I jump at Berlin and sound the sirens.
I build pretty loudspeaker arrays, basses knead your soul.
I am the wrecking ball for the g-g-g-german scene.Hey, all is shiny, that brand-new.
Hey, if you don’t like it, make it anew. (hoo…)
The world covered with dust but I want to see where I go.
Climb on the mountain of dirt because on top the wind blows.
Hey, all is shiny, that brand-new.

I’m fed up of my old clothes and let am rot in a bag.
I mothball them and then I go shopping naked.
I’m completely redecorated, chicks have something to stare at.
In rude health, buff, world champion of boxing and chess.
Only talking directly, give me a yes or a no.
Stop the falderal, I stop that old bosh.
If I ever smoke pot again, I’ll cut my leg with an axe.
I don’t want to lie again, I want to mean every sentence like it’s said.

My head bursts, I have to change all.
I search the button, meet the powerfull men.
Jive happiness on the country, buy banks and broadcast stations.
Everybody runs riot, trembling sheep and lambs.
I look better than Bono and am a common man.
Ready to rescue the world, though that might be flying a bit high.

Hey, all is shiny, that brand-new.
Hey, if you don’t like it, make it anew. (hoo…)
The air is used up here, it is hard to breath.
Bye bye I got to get out here, the walls are coming near.
The world covered with dust but I want to see where I go.
Climb on the mountain of dirt because on top the wind blows.
Hey, all is shiny, that brand-new.

Hey

For me untranslatable is the pun on jive: “Swing das Land zum Glück”. “Swing” nearly sounds like “zwing” and that means “to force”. “Jive happiness on the country” sounds in german like “force happiness on the country”.

Check here for the official Youtube video and here for translations of “Haus am See” and “Lok auf 2 Beinen”.

edit: I bought the cd “Stadtaffe” on a german website, and couldn’t download it from France. But finally got it when my bf was in Germany.

edit2: I won’t post any of my translations anymore, because it can become expensive. In Germany it is illegal to post lyrics on the net without a licence to do so, and I bet it’s not much different in the rest of the world. I wrote an email to Peter Fox asking for a licence and got no answer. That means I have no licence to post the original lyrics nor the translation and Peter Fox could sue me.
That’s the internet, it looks as if all was free and such, the opposite is the case.

15 thoughts on “Alles neu for the Anglophones

  1. Thank you very much for the translation, and for explaining the pun–it’s quite clever.🙂

  2. Thank you for posting these lyrics in English! I found the video online a couple of days ago by chance and I’ve played it so many times since then it’s ridiculous! 🙂 I love it, and I don’t speak any German so I was really curious what he was saying.

    Thanks again!

  3. Peter Nemr

    thanks for that trans. i would enjoy seeing this guy in concert he probably kicks ass. if he’s playing in berlin any time soon i can make it form now untill dec 08. i don’t know what he’s saying but the music is chill…..

  4. His tourdates are:
    Peter Fox feat. cold steel drumline: “Stadtaffen auf Tour” (seen on http://www.peterfox.de/ his official homepage.

    28.11.08 Osnabrück, Rosenhof
    01.12.08 Mannheim, Capitol
    02.12.08 A-Wien, Arena
    03.12.08 Nürnberg, Hirsch
    06.12.08 München, Muffathalle
    07.12.08 CH-Zürich, Palais Xtra
    08.12.08 Köln, LMH
    09.12.08 Dresden, Schlachthof
    10.12.08 Hamburg, Grosse Freiheit
    12.12.08 Berlin, Postbahnhof

    Berlin in December.

  5. Best translation so far. I thought the rhymes would be pretty hard to translate. I just want to be able to sing it in German🙂
    Holly

    thx😀, stanze

  6. thanks for the english lyrics, i actually caught the video on german tv and have since became a fan of this dude, he is the german prince paul…..

  7. Hey thanks for the translation.
    The lyrics are pretty cool eh
    Its a great song
    He even looks a little like the monkeys at the start of the vid
    One clever video maker too!

  8. Hi I would say instead of

    > My old life tastes like limp biscuit.

    > My gray life tastes like a wishy-washy toast

    but hey anyway great song, good translation.

  9. Im still trying to figure out what the crap it all means. But hey better song than most the crap I listen to in the west.

  10. I think he only wants to say: he is full of energy and starts anew and shows the rest of the world (especially the rest of the musicians) what a cool guy he is.🙂

  11. good translation (I’m german myself)
    u tried to save the puns^^
    posting lyrics is maybe forbidden, but nobody cares…
    (http://www.magistrix.de/lyrics/Peter%20Fox/Alles-Neu-278549.html)

    regarding the fact that u just wrote a translation and did not post the original song…

    keep it up

  12. Thank you so much for the translation! In true American style, I only speak one language and outside of that, depend on the kindness of translators, so your effort is much appreciated.

  13. Here’s my interpretation. I took parts from yours, so thanks!

    I burn my studio, snort the ashes like coke
    I slaughter my goldfish, bury him back in the yard
    I tear my place apart, everything I have, I let go
    My old life tastes soggy like a wet piece of toast
    I grill a beautiful steak, For Peter just the choicest of cuts now
    I am the Update, Peter Fox 2.0.

    I want to shake it up, party, but my pond is too small
    I grow new rows of teeth just like the great white shark
    Waxed, doped, polished, brand new teeth
    I am pushed to a high, and have expensive plans
    I buy construction machines, dredgers, rollers and cranes.
    I lurch into Berlin, and sound the alarms
    Build killer speaker arrays, and deep massage your souls
    I’m the wrecking ball of the g-g-german scene

    Hey – it all shines – so brand new
    Hey – if you don’t like where you are, start anew
    The world is covered with dust, but I want to see where it leads
    Climb the mountain out of the grime, because up there the fresh wind blows
    Hey – it all shines – so brand new

    I’ve had enough with my old things, let them rot in a sack
    Mothball my clothes, and then go shop in the nude
    I’m so completely decked out, the girls can’t help but stare
    At the peak of health, buff, world champion at boxing and chess
    From now on only straight talk – give me a yes or a no.
    Done with fooling around, I leave the old nonsense behind.

    If I ever smoke dope again, I’ll take an axe to my shins.
    I want no more lies, I want to mean everything I say.
    My head is bursting, and everything must change.
    I look for the handle, do deals with powerful men.
    Bring comfort to the country, buy banks and broadcast stations.
    Everything is going haywire, trembling sheep and lambs
    I look better than Bono, but I’m a common man.
    Ready to save the world, though that may be flying a bit high.

    Hey – it all shines – so brand new
    Hey – if you don’t like where you are, start anew
    The air is stifling here, I find it hard to breath
    See you later, I’ve got to get out, the walls are closing in
    The world is covered with dust, but I want to see where it leads
    Climb the mountain out of the grime, because up there the fresh wind blows
    Hey – it all shines – so brand new

  14. “Swing das Land zum Glück” means, “Swing the country to the main fortune”

  15. […] to publish the text of a song without their owner´s permission, I can only offer a helpful link here. They are definitely worth reading. Share this:ShareEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

