The Mighty Boosh- Old Greg

The Mighty Boosh is a british comedy show. Their homepage is www.themightyboosh.com. In this video Howard Moon, a “fool of the highest order, self deluded and intellectually vain, who believes himself to be a genius, a poet, a novelist, a wrestler/boxer and a jazz musician”, meets Old Greg, “a pitiful cavedwelling P-Funk hermaphrodite.”
P-Funk (also spelled P Funk or P. Funk) is a shorthand term for the repertoire and performers associated with George Clinton and the Parliament-Funkadelic collective and the distinctive style of funk music they performed.


Old Gregg live at Brixton on the Mighty Boosh’s 2oo6 tour
Featuring Song: Love Games (live should be legal). There aren’t any BBC videos of the Old Greg sketch.

Lyrics to Love Games ( from http://www.lyricsmania.com):
Love games?
Do you love me? Are you playing your love games with me?
I just wanna know what to do ’cause I need your love a lot
Oh come on now
Do you love me? Are you playing your love games with me?
I just wanna know what to do ’cause I need your love a lot
Oh come on now
Moving too fast, this isn’t a race ooh
Baby back off and lower the pace now
Slow it down, and give me some space, mmmh
Moving too fast, this isn’t a race. ah ah
*funky music insert*
Do you love me? Are you playing your love games with me?
I just wanna know what to do ’cause I need your love a lot
Oh come on now
Moving too fast this isn’t a race ooooh
Will you back off and lower the pace now?
Slow it down, and give me some place.
Moving too fast this isn’t a race.
I’m Old Gregg
I know I think you said
Come on don’t make me beg now
’cause I’m not your regular guy
don’t be shy
do you love me.

Lyrics to Sea Funk (also from http://www.lyricsmania.com):

We got the funk
We’ve got that underwater funk
We’ve got the funk
Forget the P-Funk
We got the sea funk
Funk
Funk
Funk
We got the funk
We’ve got that underwater funk
We’ve got the funk
Forget the P-Funk
We got the sea funk

The Funk-song in the second video might refer to “We want the funk” by Parliament, but Mighty Boosh has much more funk somehow. At least… that’s my opinion. And that’s why I won’t show you this song here, but you can find a video on Youtube. Instead you might enjoy an older song of Funkadelic.
I got a thing, from 1970. I took delight in this video.

I won’t post any of my translations or original lyrics anymore, because it can become expensive. In Germany it is illegal to post lyrics on the net without a licence to do so.
I got no licence from the mighty Boosh and don’t want to pay 5 pounds to get in their official forum.
They could sue me. I should just delete the article.
That’s the internet, it looks free, but it isn’t.

One thought on “The Mighty Boosh- Old Greg

  1. Hi , I have lyrcis, songtexte blog, I wait all to my blogs Türkische Musik

    Lied Text

Leave a Reply

