Tibia history

Tibia is a nowadays mmorpg, massive multiplayer online roleplaying game. It’s language is British English. Tibia’s birthday was January 7th, 1997. A permanent server on rrws27.uni-regensburg.de at the University of Regensburg in Germany was launched. The first player was Albe, he showed up on January 10th. More and more players joined and stayed online longer. The server got too small for so much activity, the developers bought their own server (tibia.uni-passau.de) and set it up at the University of Passau in Germany on July 2nd, 1998. Then the code was entirely rewritten and the new Beta 5.0 launched on June 18th, 1999. The average number of players online grew from about 50 in summer 1999 to about 150 in summer 2000. When I quit in summer 2007 there were 50000 players online on all their servers. Due to World of Warcraft (that’s only a guess) there are “only” up to 30000 players online nowadays.

Their official website is http://www.tibia.com. More information about old tibiaversions can be found on the tibiawiki and more detailed in an open tibia forum. Note that it is not allowed to talk about open tibia in the official tibia and no, I never played open tibia.

Tibia is copyright © Cipsoft GmbH

24 thoughts on “Tibia history

  1. […] Sunday I did the Tibia quest “pits of inferno” with the service of the guild Fate. Since they won a guildwar […]

  2. […] 10/10/2010 tags: games, tibia by stanzebla I had some problems with my internet. Tibia Often has problems with DDoS attacks, but this time it was really a problem from my side. I even […]

  3. […] was told not to try the mission 3: “Death to the Deathbringer” of the Tibia-quest “In Service of Yalahar” alone, because several bog raiders roam the area and Korgue […]

  4. […] are still loads of quests that were implemented during the last 3 years in Tibia, which I haven’t done yet, or not finished. I still don’t know what I can do and what […]

  5. […] games, rpg, tibia by stanzebla Until now I had many strange adventures in the “new” Tibia. Roleplayers are nearly extincted in that game, but sometimes one of them appears and it is still […]

  6. […] quit Tibia before they implemented the level- and vocation requirements. Therefore I was still wearing a […]

  7. […] needed a bit of a vacation and spent it in Tibia. No, that doesn’t mean I will immediately retire now. Some of the guys that spoiled my game […]

  8. […] I was away for 3 years, there are still many quests in Tibia to. I found out, that I am not really a gifted thief, when I had to sneak in a house full of nomads […]

  9. […] and paranoia 30/10/2010 tags: games, mmorpg, tibia by stanzebla Yesterday I talked in Tibia with some highlevel. He asked me where I am from, I said I live in France. Then he suddenly told me […]

  10. […] Tibia quest “The hidden city of Beregar” has no level requirement and the spoiler assured me, […]

  11. […] won a nightmare doll in a Tibia fansite contest (tibiaML). Knight of the white wolf gave it a room in the Tibianis. I think in the […]

  12. […] won a nightmare doll in a Tibia fansite contest (tibiaML). Knight of the white wolf gave it a room in the Tibianis. I think in the […]

  13. […] 06/11/2010 tags: games, mmorpg, quests, tibia by stanzebla I had started the Tibia quest “the ice islands” years ago. Now I continued it with Norfen. I also took a task […]

  14. […] is boring in Tibia. Every year the halloween hare appears and changes the appearance of players into the same […]

  15. […] Nov 30 20:50:05 2010 20:30 Welcome to the help channel. In this channel you can ask questions about Tibia. Experienced players will gladly help you to the best of their knowledge. For detailed information […]

  16. […] paradox tower quest of Tibia is an old quest. It takes around three hours because the player has to go to the Plains of Havoc […]

  17. […] can have unpleasant side effects. This time I felt awfully clever, when I found out how to get the Tibia achievement “bunny slipped” and my dogs and cats had to wait half an hour for their […]

  18. […] was not my first Tibia character but the two first characters don’t exist anymore. Blamina was my first character on […]

  19. […] Loads of pieces of cake 25/02/2011 by stanzebla Tibia introduced masses of World Quests. Every month happens at least one additional World Task, […]

  20. […] Algerian author, philosopher and journalist. I met Camuu on the closed beta test server for the Tibia flash client. He said later he remembered having seen me on the Tibianews forum. Anyways, I was […]

  21. […] his departure CM Ogrey wrote an article on his own homepage about his farewell from Tibia. I hope he doesn’t mind if I translate it. I know my English sucks and he could say it better […]

  22. […] farms on Candia 10/05/2011 tags: mmorpg, tibia by stanzebla My Bavarian Tibia acquaintance Chiro Laleygh used to tell me that the botters on the server Harmonia were French, […]

  23. […] by stanzebla In Dresden in Germany exists a real estate company by name of “GFB”. For Tibians “gfb” means ‘great fireball‘. But great fireball doesn’t sound like a […]

Leave a Reply

