Dogs, colza and a surprise-lamb

I have to leave Bach (Bernese mountaindog) here when I go back to Germany (not now, one day, maybe in a month or such). That’s difficult for me. He thinks I am his mom. If I am around, he is happy. In the morning he jumps on my bed, throws his 40kg (88lbs) on me and starts to meditate while I cuddle him. His head is often completely empty, he is enlightened.

Bach, happy as usual, own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Some days ago Phex (Belgian shepherd) ran away late in the evening. It wasn’t the first time. He sometimes falls in love with a bitch in the village. I am always scared when he runs away, because the people drive like crazy around here. So me, Rudi (Glen of Imaal terrier) and Bach jumped in our car to search Phex. We found him on the road to the village, he was already on his way back home. Happy reunion with lots of hugs.

Happy Phex and the shadow of the photographer. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Happy Phex on a road in Villeret. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

We like to walk through the fields, even if it rains sometimes.

Colza at the end of the world. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Colza. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Two days ago Kleinfleckchen was lambing. That was rather a surprise. Kleinfleckchen is one year old and I thought she wasn’t pregnant. She has lots of wool, she wasn’t sheared yet. All the other got their lambs in February. The last two nights mother and lamb slept in the straw storage stable. Kleinfleckchen gets extra portions of dry sheep food.

Brad and another lamb greet the newborn lamb. I don't know yet if it is male or female. Kleinfleckchen gets hysterical when I touch the lamb. She is a good mother, maybe a bit too good. It's best to leave them alone. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Brad says: The lamb is okay. It can join my army. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Kleinfleckchen sucks the humidity out of the placenta. Sheep do that. After lambing the ewe is very thirsty. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Finally alone, with a bucket of fresh water and sheep food. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

6 thoughts on “Dogs, colza and a surprise-lamb

  1. When are you going back to Germany? And why????

  2. Beautiful photos.
    how long will you be gone?
    The doggies & sheep will be lonely…..

    • Nono, I am still here. But it won’t last forever. I just have no money at all anymore. And there is not much hope to find another job around here. I’ll have to leave if the castle ever gets sold anyways. Two of the dogs will go with me. The cats will most likely end in a refuge and the sheep will get eaten, including my favourite sheep I raised with the bottle. And strange but true, I got friends in Germany that try to force me to leave right now.

  3. If we stay with each other for a long time, I will feel they become the member of my family. You said the sheep will get eaten. How sad? Can’t we avoid it?

  4. The chefs said that I could move to the Provence if the castle gets sold and they would allow me to have some sheep there. But they don’t pay me enough to survive. So no, I can only delay my departure as long as possible.

Leave a Reply

