Sheepish Maydens

The end is nigh. I have absolutely no money anymore. Certain people ask me, if I have special expenses and if I say “yes”, they don’t react. Why ask at all? I called the sheepmerchant and he said, that the lambs are still too small. I agree, but I have no choice. I won’t sell all of them though. The sale is set for May 22. This is always difficult, but this time much more difficult because they are still so young. Yesterday I went for a walk with the dogs up the hill. On half way up I heard a lamb crying. I thought it was one of my lambs and nearly went back. But it couldn’t be one of my sheep, I was already too far away and they wouldn’t go that far, even if they could escape. Shaun, my black ram, used to escape. And he always only made a trip around the property.

Next time I heard the lamb cry, I noticed the baa came from the top of the hill. There is a small pond with lawn around it. The owner must have bought chickens and lambs. There were 5 or 6 black-headed lambs, much too young to be separated from the mother. They were scared, lying together and crying frequently. Not a very motivating sight. Plus the horse is back in its mud hole. My favourite neighbour wasn’t at home, or I would have asked him about the changes on the hill.

The title is a lie, Brad’s newest recruit (and no, she is very much too young to get sold) and her proud mother on April 30. They are at least maidens and shy. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

She’s very cute and follows her mother everywhere. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Some of the inhabitants of the area clearly give a damn about the beauty of the landscape. Someone has thrown a beercan out of the window of a car into the beautiful colza at the road. I might have too many prejudices, but I would bet it was a young, male person.

Pollution. I couldn’t stand the sight, grabbed the beer can and it spilt stale beer over my hand. Oh great. The can was half-full. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Rudi doesn’t know it yet, but sometimes I think he noticed something is wrong with him. His prostate gland is swollen. He has problems to drop faeces because of that. He needs a castration. And the lambsale is supposed to provide the money for that. Most of the time he is very happy though. This morning he brought me indefinable body parts of a rabbit (“yuk, errr I mean thank you Rudi”). And he was very proud of it.

Rudi muses about something. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Brad has caught a tapeworm and it’s likely that he’s not the only one. The lambsale is supposed to pay for Cestocur (endoparasiticide oral suspension for sheep). I still got loads of Niratil and some Panacur, but it doesn’t work against tapeworms.

The title is a lie again. I took the photo on April 30 before the tapeworm. Brad is not shy and he’s a boy. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Brad flattens his ears. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Another lamb which I won’t sell is the little Knubbel (knob), the daughter of Kleines (small one). She is stout, kind of round, rather like a ball and not like an egg. Oval is the optimal body shape of sheep, but I got to admit, that ball-shaped sheep are quite cute.

Knubbel is shy and a maiden and I took the photo on May 1. Isn’t she cute? Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Brad is eating (May 7). Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Brad isn’t really thin either. I guess I’m a good ewe somehow. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

The new lamb and one of the oldest ram-lambs. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

The new one loves to lie around on the pasturage. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Hey, don’t watch me while I eat. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Kleines is still worried if anybody approaches her daughter. It doesn’t matter if it’s me or another sheep. She was grazing peacefully, until she noticed the male lamb near – lets call her Agathe.

Agathe is grinning, but Kleinfleckchen (small patch) looks up and notices the male lamb. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Kleinfleckchen shows the male lamb who wears the wool (errr). Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Are you okay sweetie? Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

I didn’t do it! Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

All is well that ends well. Own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

One that will get sold is the son of Stirnlöckchen (forelock). She is over ten years old and having a son is too much for her. But he’s very cute and in the last days he regained his lop ears.

Lop ear-lambs are cute. Sigh. They are all cute. own photo, licence:Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

I got no new photo of her but yesterday my rather sheepish female cat Farbexplosion (colour explosion) shocked me. I was feeding her in Markus’ old sleeping room. There is an old cobweb at the side of window. A fat fly got caught in the web. I fished the fly out of the web and threw it out of the window. There was still a bit of web sticking to the fly. Farbexplosion jumped out of the window like a maniac and ate the fat fly. It made a crunchy noise. That seriously can’t be tasty, fat fly with cobweb. I wondered for a moment if I should be scared of her. But I decided, that it’s good if cats and dogs eat flies and spiders. Nice of them… somehow.

Creative Commons License
This work by https://stanzebla.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

One thought on “Sheepish Maydens

  1. […] After driving around and around the property trying to find a way in better view of the place, we saw something red on the road, in the distance by the main gate. Given that we were driving and the something red was walking, it took but a moment for our big grey van to pull up beside a red haired woman in a red jacket with three dogs.  A few moments of conversation, a couple of questions answered and lots of big smiles later we were standing smack in front of the ‘folie’ with Constanze and her friendly canine companions. […]

Leave a Reply

