Nose of the cow

The French have a very special relationship with cows, a kind of entente cordiale where it is agreed that in return for milk to make excellent cheeses, cows get a special place in French culture, notably in popular expressions, slang and humour.

via Learning French – French Expressions with Cows.

I like cows too, they are cute. Bach also likes cows. He likes everybody, sheep, cows, horses.

When the cows carefully sniff at my hand, it always reminds me of “nose of the leopard“. Yes, I admit, I am quite silly.

A young cow in Villeret (Berthouville), own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Eye of the tiger… err… cow. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Nose of the leopard… err… cow. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

The next photo might not be suitable for everyone. I know the reality can be shocking. I’ll post it a bit smaller and you can enlarge it yourself if you dare.

A lot of nose of the cow. Own photo, licence: Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported/ CC by SA

Creative Commons License
This work by https://stanzebla.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

2 thoughts on “Nose of the cow

  1. […] I was surprised when saw a cow at the gate. “Hey la vache, what are you doing here?” La vache is a traditional French swear word. I quickly jumped over the fence at the old horse stable and saw […]

  2. […] like I am writing at least one cow-related post per year. Last year I wrote Nose of the cow. Cows still remind me of “Eye of the tiger” but this year they made me wonder if […]

Leave a Reply

