Professional excavations by Rudi

I feel a bit tired since some days. I’m probably hibernating. I try to go to sleep early. Yesterday Rudi was missing. I went outside to call him but he didn’t come. After waiting for half an hour I took a torchlight and searched the park. The park is up to 2 hectars big. It was already midnight and not very warm. I feared he might have a crisis and lie helpless under some bushes, slowly freezing to death. I don’t know why German women are always worried. It’s something we just can’t switch off. I finally saw two tiny yellow spots reflecting the light of my torch. I couldn’t see the rest of the dog, he had a camouflage coat of mud. He was chewing on something and his right forepaw rested triumphantly on the dead body of a rabbit child. I had to get a leash to bring Rudi inside. He didn’t want to leave the excavation site.

Rudi in the bathtub after midnight. I think he never was that dirty before. But the dirt didn’t smell bad, I guess that’s something. Own photo on Flickr, licence:
Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

After Rudi was shampooed and set I saw that Bach was dirty too, though by far not as much. No way I would bathe a Bernese Mountaindog after midnight.

I’m not THAT dirty, Frauchen. There is no need to bathe me. *worried look* Own photo on Flickr, licence: Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

This morning I went on the field and collected flint stones. It was a pleasure. I checked every stone if it was used as a tool in prehistoric times. I admired the colours and patterns. There’s an expression in German “steinreich”, literally “stone rich”, meaning filthy rich. It always makes me wonder… we are rich concerning stones, but stones on the field don’t make us filthy rich. Hmm.

A cart with flint stones and my wonderful lined working gloves. Own photo on Flickr, licence: Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

The village in the distance, shining in the bright Normannic morning sun. Own photo on Flickr, licence: Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

Rudi’s excavation site. Btw.. at the annual New Year’s meeting someone tried to hit on me by suggesting a rabbit hunt in the park. I hope my face didn’t show what I was thinking. Own photo on Flickr, licence: Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

Miniputz was supervising the work. I filled the hole and then I tried to take a photo of the cat. nearly impossible, she’s moving all the time. She seemed to be content with the work though, was treading the air and purring. There is another, smaller hole, that leads to the burrow. It’s big enough for Miniputz.

Miniputz likes the job I’ve done, probably because she’ll have all the rabbits for herself. Bach looks a bit disappointed. Own photo on Flickr, licence: Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

10 thoughts on “Professional excavations by Rudi

  1. Just what you needed at midnight – dirty rotten scoundrel😀 You did good for Miniputz.

    • If Rudi wants a bath so bad, he could ask me during the daytime. I’m lucky to have such a nice boss like Miniputz. It’s a pleasure to work for her.😉

  2. hehe… ja Hunde und baden😉 …. und das noch so spät Abends ;-)…. gott sei dank müssen wir unsere nicht waschen🙂

    • Ja, stell dir vor du müsstest die alle an einem Tag waschen. Aber im Sommer hopsen die doch bestimmt mal in einen Teich oder?

      • Ja, das schon während wir spazieren gehen🙂 Aber danach sind sie meistens schmutziger als zuvor haha😉

  3. Hallo,

    This is for you, for being kind to others and me, http://www.bigcards.nl/card/pickup/bc-c7cf3c10/

    Sweet Valentine greetings, Summer

    • Thank you very much, it’s actually the only Valentine’s card I’ve EVER got in my whole life. So here’s a dance from Bach and a lamb who got also some kind of peace-project going. bach and lamb

Leave a Reply

