Lawnmowers are wonderful

It’s spring. That means the grass and the bad herbs are growing and I have to cut them. Right in time, my brushcutter broke. Just for the record. It’s my brushcutter. I bought it with my own money. I seriously need it, because the sheep do NOT eat stinging nettles or any poisonous plant. Sheep aren’t very clever animals but they are usually clever enough not to burn their mouth and not to eat poison. Stupider sheep die young. The motor of the brushcutter is still running, but the head doesn’t turn anymore. This reminded me so much of Eleenie and her lawnmower. A friend told me, in France are no cheap repair services. Repairing something costs as much as buying a new thing. But there is hope. Me and Rudi visited Mr C. Rudi loves Mr C.’s cats, but those cats don’t love him. Mr C. thinks there is hope we can repair the brushcutter. Then he showed me his awesome collection of grass-cutting-machines, a brushcutter, a lawnmower and a ride-on mower. I cut the grass around some trees in his garden, then he let me ride his ride-on mower. I found out, that it is much more difficult to cut straight lines with the mower than I thought. He took some photos of me.

Lawnmowing is fun. Photo by Alain Cardinal, all rights reserved.

Lawnmowing is fun. Photo by Alain Cardinal, all rights reserved.

Careful stanze, don't drive the lawnmower into the pond. Photo by Alain Cardinal, all rights reserved.

Careful stanze, don’t drive the lawnmower into the pond. Photo by Alain Cardinal, all rights reserved.

And this is how I look if I try to concentrate on something. Those corners were really difficult to mow. Photo by Alain Cardinal, all rights reserved

And this is how I look if I try to concentrate on something. Those corners were really difficult to mow. Photo by Alain Cardinal, all rights reserved

After I was undulating on the lawn long enough (unsure if I can say it like that in English but I like the word “undulate”), I gave up. Thing is I love waves and curves, when I cut the hedge I always cut the corners round, but Mr C. hates waves and curves and wants everything straight and perpendicular. But waves or not, he lent me the normal lawnmower. That was yesterday, I’ve cut the lawn for the rest of the day yesterday and the whole day today.

It’s a funny lawnmower. It is quite special, to start it I got to open the starter and close it half with my hand or foot. It’s a bit tricky, but once it’s running it runs. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Another part I’ve mown yesterday. The park is up to 2 hectars big? The whole property is 4 hectars big. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Rudi and Phex were terribly bored, the lawnmower is too loud for them. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Can’t remember when it looked that good last time, but it was probably after the 200€ lawnmowing last year. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Lawnpride. It’s green, it’s short, it’s lawn. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Bach always helps me when I work. He is never bored. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

I got to say it again, I can’t remember, if it ever looked that good. Sadly it won’t stay like that for long. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

7 thoughts on “Lawnmowers are wonderful

  1. Mit so einem Teil bin ich auf Orkney mal rumgefahren. Allerdings nur einmal:) Nachdem ich 8ten ins Gras gefahren habe,hat es der Besitzer des Gartens lieber wieder selbst gemacht:)

    • Ja, so ähnlich war das auch, gerade Linien sind echt schwer. Ich kann ohne Probleme genau in der Spur fahren, aber das war ihm auch alles nicht gerade genug, er sagte aber, das sei in einer Woche eh verwachsen.

  2. So einen Rasenmäher hätte ich auch gerne manchmal gehabt auf der Wiese meiner Mutter🙂

    • Das Ding ist total geil, das fährt sich ungefähr wie ein Isländerpferd läuft. Man muss ganz locker in der Hüfte bleiben, weils so wackelt. Ich fand das lustig.😀

  3. est est est!!

    Viel spaß noch mit dem Ding/Rasenmähtraktor😀

  4. A friend of mine got one of those las year, he would tell me how much fun it was.
    I tried it a few months ago, I had a blast!
    I would drive one of those to my office everyday if I could.

Leave a Reply

