Sheep gather under the trees

Soon will be shearing time and the shepherd reminded me, that I should buy a new ram. I’m still not sure what to do. It’s so difficult for me to sell the sheep and leave. They are so cute and so funny. One of the bloggers I follow said, that dogs are not sentimental. Sheep aren’t sentimental either. Every day I help Stirnlöckchen twice to get up. She doesn’t want to die. She complains sometimes, but not about life. She complains about me being a slowpoke of a servant.

Stirnlöckchen complains: “Hey you food goddess, don’t stand gaping, give me food!” Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

How could I want to move away? This was what I saw this morning. Open door to the outside. Then I was cuddling Schlafmütz, Rudi and Bach and sang a silly morning-song for them. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

And that’s how the neighbour’s Normande girls greet me. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Yesterday evening the younger sheep were running and jumping just like lambs. They are so silly. We’re such a good team.

Sheep gather under the trees. Berta looks as if she had an all-night party. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

This sheep changes its name. She has a forelock and is the daughter of Kleines. Sometimes I call her Betti. The sheep behind her is Berta. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Betti or whatshername wants her food from the red bowl with her mother. If one of the other sheeps sticks cheekily its muzzle into the red bowl, Kleines, the mother, stops to eat and pouts while Betti starts to yell at me really loud. Sometimes she allows me to feed her by hand.

If you think, the sheep are posing for me, you’re right. They are obviously posing for me. But I can’t give them commands. They create the artwork themselves. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

“Mäh” means Berta lifts the head and the others put theirs down. “Mäh” means everybody turns around. “Mäh” means run away and hoof one’s nose at Frauchen (me).

Kleines (little one) is so cute I want to cuddle her all the time. But she prefers food.. in the red bowl. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Brad (to the right) and Agatha (to the left) are a lovely couple. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Brad. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Berta is lying under the chestnut tree. She likes to stay near the cottage. She’s one of my “daughters”. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

14 thoughts on “Sheep gather under the trees

  1. Banish thoughts of leaving – your sheep family are wonderful, especially the old dear who needs you so!

  2. Oh I’d love to live there with your flock! Seems so peaceful. I’m coming to visit you in September. The weather’s not stopping me this time!

  3. Your sheep are so lovely, I’m friends with all the sheep that live in the park near me:)

  4. You live a beautiful life with all those sheep.

  5. I wouldn’t want to leave those sheep either.
    They look like Doggy before his date with the groomer, I’d love to have a couple of sheep or cows, but can’t afford any of them and even if I could I don’t have room for them.

    • I can’t afford them either. If I lose these and go away, it’s very likely, that I won’t ever have the opportunity to own sheep again.

  6. I have first read the german one, and then i saw there is also the english one

Leave a Reply

