Shearing 2013

Deutsche Version: Schur 2013.
Before the shearing the sheep already complained about the heat and about the weight of the wool. I had cut the wool of Stirnlöckchen with primitive sheep shears. The shearing machine of the shepherd broke and he had to buy a new one for 1500€. It took him ages with the new machine, but it was still much faster than shearing by hand.

Berta complains about the heat. “Hey food goddess, it’s too hot, do something!” Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Posing for the timer. 10 seconds to try to look relaxed. I was cutting the grass around the stable, cleaning the stable and bringing fresh straw inside. Bach helped me. Own photo on Flickr. Licence: all rights reserved.

The barn has eyes. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Then the shepherd’s shearing machine broke and I decided to cut the wool of Stirnlöckchen on my own. She wasn’t shorn in 2012 because I thought she would die during the winter. But she plans to live forever. It’s a Highlander-sheep.

Stirnlöckchen got off lightly, at least lighter than before. The wool had become too heavy. And it was dirty. I treated her against worms and fleas as well. Here I gave her some sheep treats. She lets her ears hanging though. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Rudi thinks it’s fun to shear the sheep outside. Stirnlöckchen has to pee, had to wait so long. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Read my future in the blisters. Result of shearing Stirnlöckchen with simple shears. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Monsieur B., a sheepgirl and the new shearing machine. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Where's the head?

The sheep move less if kept like this. She looks quite fat. That’s good. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Sweet Brad after the shearing. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

the sheep's new clothes

Brad and his girlfriend Agathe. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

On charges of wool theft

“It’s cold now, where’s my wool?” Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Finally we can sleep in our own beds.

After the shearing they were allowed to sleep in their usual barn. On the next day I brought them in the park again. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Then everybody was not sold. And we’re still happily living under the shady trees of Normandy.

13 thoughts on “Shearing 2013

  1. I’m glad they are still here. Sheeps are great :o)

  2. […] English version: here. […]

  3. Okay, now it’s Poppy’s turn to express undying love for Rudi. She says he’s got the best smile ever, and if he rolls in sheep poo she’s a lost soul waiting forever to be united with him. Terriers!!! The sheep do look a lot happier with the wool off, and you must have been exhausted shearing by hand. I don’t know how they ever got the clip off neatly when that was the common way to do it. This is one case where modern is much better. Hope you don’t have to do that again soon.

    Long live Stirnlöckchen!

    Nanina and Poppy

    • Oh no, he just went outside to roll. I bet I’ll have to book a flight for him now. Hope the airlines transport terriers that have been rolling in sheep poo.😉
      He sends smelly kisses.
      Thank you🙂 Stirnlöckchen says: “mäh”

  4. So I take it you’re staying? Did you get the offer you wanted or did you just decide to stay where you’re happy?

    • I didn’t get the offer I wanted, but I got an offer. And I did stay because I prefer to be here. The options weren’t too great. But the offer they gave me might turn out to be fake. I’ll know soon. Next time I will try to sell the sheep one by one and not to the sheep merchant. If I sell to him, they all get killed. And that’s a bit too much for my nerves. I’m preparing my car. Getting home by car will at least be cheaper than renting. I’m happy here. Nobody else understands why, but it’s true. Good luck for your moving and I still think I would move to the US if we could make our own doggy day care or something like that. I travel lightly anyways.

  5. Sheep are very alright animals. Love them.

Leave a Reply

