Bastille day 2013

Hiervon gibt es keine deutsche Version.
I’m so tired since some days, I could sleep all day and can’t sleep at night. Grrr. The dogs are a bit worried. If I’m too tired I don’t want to walk much. I lost some weight, but that’s not a bad thing. And I don’t know what to eat. I mean I got food, but I got no appetite. Therefore I’m not really in posting mood.

Today was a holiday here though. I should have worked all day long but I went to the village to celebrate with the villagers the Bastille day. Everybody told me I was looking good, but that’s probably because I leveled my face out, primed and undercoated it.

The celebrations started with a Catholic mass at the church (praying), then we went to the war memorial and sang the Marseillaise (singing), then we went to the village school and had a glass of sparkling wine or orange juice (drinking) and then the “ancients” drove off for eating. They invited me for dinner but I said I’m not ancient (no idea why I said that, because I feel quite ancient).

but it's a nice church

Catholic mass in the trinity church in Morsan. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

Pretty embroidered sashes

Charitons, members of the local brotherhood of charity. That’s a Catholic lay community. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

and for the next elections there is hope it will be restored

The church interior after the mass. It’s a pretty church, that was built in the 13th century and enlarged in the 17th century. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

singing.. more or less

Singing the Marseillaise. Nobody seemed to know the text. The group of women there, were the only ones who had a page with the text. They actually had several, but they didn’t share them and thus they were basically the only ones singing. I was approaching them, to look over their shoulders but when I reached them the song was over. Note to self: learn the Marseillaise until next year. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

ancients are not some mythical beings, they mean the WWII soldiers

A croud in front of the village school. It was much cooler there. Inside it was full and hot. The bus is for the ancients. Own photo on Flickr, licence: CC by-SA/ Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported

11 thoughts on “Bastille day 2013

  1. That sounds like a very nice day – great photos.

    • Thank you, yes I had fun, but the dogs didn’t. Everybody was asking about them. I usually never go out without at least one dog.

  2. We had the same procedure here – but the singing came later, after some “throat-oiling” :o)
    I’m not sure if I would learn the lyrics, it sounds a little bit scary to me: Marchons, marchons! Qu’un sang impur Abreuve nos sillons! :o)

  3. Dinner with the ancients hahahaha

    • They probably get only soup or porridge. And at the entrance someone hands out long fake beards and dry shampoo for those that don’t look ancient enough.

  4. I am in charity with you, feeling tired all the time…also ancient. It’s hard to blog. Still you wrote a great post with humor about something I know only a little adding great pictures. I hope you got something to eat when you got home. Sometimes I wish I had servants and wasn’t one myself!!! We need our own Bastille Day…😉

    • I think I ate a sandwich or such.
      Concerning servants: I used to get spoiled on my birthday at least. But since I’m alone, I got to spoil myself, which is like squaring the circle. We definitely like our own Bastille Day. We could call it: “Servants Day” or “Opposite Day”.😉

  5. Hello! Just came by to check on you! woo woo woo!

    • Hello Rumpy, I am slowly starting to recover from my workidays. Thanks for the visit, you are always a cute sight.😀

Leave a Reply

